Work, behavior

Do your work, whatever it is, as well as you can. Cooking, painting, filing, vacuuming, writing, healing – your work is a visible manifestation of your soul and by doing it, you reveal yourself. There is always someone, somewhere, in the world who appreciates both your work and the chance to get to know you.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

2 responses to “Work, behavior

  1. Susan

    A corollary I try to follow is to find something interesting in uninteresting work. When I’m really bored with what I’m editing (my paid work), I concentrate on shaping my letters as prettily or as evenly as I can, or I shine a strong light at a slant and watch the pencil lead catching in the fibers of the paper. It’s amazing how much left-brain work can still go on while the right brain is entertaining itself.

    • Yes, I know just what you mean. When I’ve knitted a sweater and am putting the pieces together, I pay attention to how the needle goes through the fabric, and how evenly I can make the stitches, and notice the pattern the stitches make as they cross each other in joining the pieces. Seems like a form of mindfulness? I think it is possible to go through life with zero boredom (not always attainable, of course) if you really pay attention and if you allow yourself to enjoy how detailed things can be or how much you can see in them, if you set yourself to it?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

