Sunshine Project

Last winter was just awful. Between December 2013 and March 2014, not only was the weather so harsh as to be threatening, my health took its deep dive and a lot of things unraveled.

I have spent a lot of time getting ready for this winter and working out ways to erase the bad memories and fears.

I noticed that the time period I was worried about coincided almost exactly with the winter solstice to the vernal equinox – winter to spring. That struck me as very interesting – the kind of thing that makes you wonder if there is some pattern you ought to be seeing.

What it made me think of was sunshine – the shortest day in December, the least amount of light – and the slow lengthening of the days letting in more light, little by little.

I made a large group of clay disks, “sunshines”, I called them. I plan to set one out somewhere along my travels, one each day. Anywhere. I hope people will come along and pick them up and take them home, keep them in their pockets, put them on their desks at work. And what this will do for me is remind me that each day – we are getting through the dark winter, closer to the light!

I’m going to try to take a picture each day and I’ll post the result.

I’ll be starting on – December 21!

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

99 responses to “Sunshine Project

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 58, Building, Wyncote, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  2. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 59, Playground, Glenside, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  3. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 60, Park, Cheltenham, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  4. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 61, Park, Roslyn, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  5. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 62, Electrical Station, Ambler, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  6. Pingback: Sunshine-Derived Photos – Part 2 | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  7. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 63, Borough Hall, Hatboro, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  8. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 64, Office Building, Abington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  9. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 65, Church, Hatboro, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  10. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 66, Bus Stop, Ambler, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  11. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 67, Post Office, Fort Washington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  12. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 68, Train Station, Penllyn, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  13. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 69, Parking Garage, Fort Washington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  14. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 70, Library, Washington, DC | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  15. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 71, Baseball Fields, Penllyn, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  16. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 72, Trail, Huntingdon Valley, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  17. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 73, Park, Erdenheim, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  18. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 74, Bridge, Glenside, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  19. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 75, Castle, Glenside, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  20. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 76, Parking Lot, Glenside, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  21. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 77, Park, Fort Washington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  22. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 78, Swimming Pool, Philadelphia, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  23. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 79, Library, Fort Washington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  24. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Softball Field, Wyncote, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  25. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 81, Wetlands, Fort Washington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  26. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 82, Post Office, Flourtown, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  27. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 83, Labyrinth, Philadelphia, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  28. Pingback: Details Details Details | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  29. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 84, Trail, Huntingdon Valley, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  30. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 85, Theater, Ambler, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  31. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 86, Railroad Crossing, Huntingdon Valley, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  32. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 87, Green Ribbon Trail, Fort Washington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  33. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 88, Mansion, Elkins Park, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  34. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 89, Cemetery, Ft. Washington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  35. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 90, Parking Lot, Glenside, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  36. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 91, Craft Show, Warminster, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  37. Pingback: Sunshine Photos Part One | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  38. Pingback: Sunshine Photos Part Two | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  39. Pingback: Sunshine Photos Part Three | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  40. Pingback: Sunshine Photos Part Six – Not Quite | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  41. Pingback: Scrawling a Picture or Two | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  42. I LOVE this idea, Claudia! It’s like happiness bombing and a random act of kindness and bringing art into everyone’s lives. What a great idea.

    • It did more for me than I could have hoped (if you read the first post announcing it you will understand why I embarked on this process). Very meaningful. And, I saw some places I would have otherwise overlooked. I don’t want to repeat the project this winter – some things just need to be done once and remembered. But I hope to find another “pilgrimage” idea for this winter. I still have a lot of trouble maintaining equilibrium and winter pushes me. So I’m tossing some ideas around in my head, I’ll see what happens! But I did love the structure of it, and I think it helped my writing, too. It was just fun, overall, too.

      • I did read your initial post on the topic too. I too find the winters hard here because I am not used to so much snow. However, I actually find my mood and energy are much better here than back home in Scotland. I think that is largely because of light levels. Back home there was very little daylight for months but here I love that there are blue skies even when there is several feet of snow on the ground. The idea of doing something uplifting to get you through a trying time, however, is something I can identify with. I look forward to seeing what you come up with for this winter.

  43. Pingback: Odds and Ends, Clay Version | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  44. Pingback: Revisiting Sunshine in the Sunshine | Sometimes You Get So Confused

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

