Sunshine Project – Day 8, Apartment Building, Washington, D.C.

The sunshine traveled with us today. My husband and I drove a gigantic white van (we named her Fran Fran the Cargo Van) to Washington, DC. We traveled with a sofa loaded in the back: that’s why we needed the van.

And the sofa was leaving our house to go to the new apartment of our son and his fiancée. They are in the process of moving to the city and have new jobs starting very soon. There has been a lot of change in their lives lately, and so much to decide and to do in a short time.

We left early in the morning, before the sun was up,  and arrived without incident in just about three hours. Though I don’t think I want to travel in a gigantic white van that often, it certainly did the job. So just like that (easy for me to say; my son and husband did the lifting), the sofa is settled down and we are eating lunch and admiring the new apartment.

Sunshine for December 28, 2014.

Sunshine for December 28, 2014.

As we left, I placed the sunshine at the mailbox area in the front lobby. I thought it was a great place for someone to see it – everyone comes to the mailbox, and the elevators are right there, too.

mailbox and sunshine 12-28-14

Those people in Apartment 617 make their own sunshine, I think – and I am so happy they would share it with us today!

apt. 617

So off we went, home with Fran Fran the Cargo Van, sofa-free in this direction. It was a great trip. Just great! At least that is what we thought. I don’t know how Fran Fran the Cargo Van felt about it. She certainly behaved nicely.

An innocuous-looking hallway, deserted and quiet...

Here you see an innocuous-looking hallway, deserted and quiet…

.. and then all of a sudden, this mysterious man streaked by. I'll give you a hint: he doesn't live in the building. I'll give you another hint: It's my van driver. And last hint: My husband! Thank you for driving!

.. and then all of a sudden, this mysterious man streaked by. I’ll give you a hint: He doesn’t live in the building. I’ll give you another hint: It’s my van driver. And last hint: My husband! Thank you for driving!

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

2 responses to “Sunshine Project – Day 8, Apartment Building, Washington, D.C.

  1. Martha

    Sweet, happy, love, family. All in one. And bye to Fran the Van. Job well done.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

