Sunshine Project – Day 14, Bank, Jenkintown, PA

Today’s sunshine drop-off came about as a result of something that happened to me yesterday. And the more I thought about it, the more it seemed that the place I chose for today was the right spot for a sunshine.

Sunshine, January 3, 2015.

Sunshine, January 3, 2015.

Here’s what happened. I went to the bank yesterday at lunchtime, and as I came out, I noticed something on the sidewalk directly in front of the door. Now, I am always picking up things from the ground and taking them home (if you want to know what I do with some of them, read this post from my art blog). So I thought – Maybe something for my collection! But once I picked the item up, I knew I had something more.

It was a silver dollar. Dated 1886. Real as it could be.

I don’t know how I missed it going into the bank. Maybe it wasn’t even there then. I really felt excited looking at this coin – it was heavy and solid and big. A good bit of wear. And a beautiful shininess to it. When I closed my fingers around it, it fit right into my palm, no room left over.

The sunshine in place, on the box to the right of the door. I found the silver dollar in front of this door, just outside, on the sidewalk.

The sunshine in place, on the box to the right of the door. I found the silver dollar in front of this door, just outside, on the sidewalk.

Well, if I had found it in the middle of the parking lot, I would have taken it home. I couldn’t have figured out how to find its owner. But, since it was right here at the bank’s door, it seemed to me a customer must have dropped it. Someone would miss it, come looking for it. I didn’t want to be the reason that person was disappointed. For all I knew, this coin was special for more than monetary reasons.

So I took it back inside and gave it to the manager. I hope it finds its way home.

The more I thought about this incident, the more the whole thing seemed to be directing me to make a pattern out of it. I found something on the ground and now it was up to me to put something there myself, I felt. So this morning, my husband and I stopped at the bank and set a sunshine in place.

A silver dollar and then a sunshine. Here's where it all happened.

A silver dollar and then a sunshine. Here’s where it all happened.

Happy Sunshine, and if you see something on the ground, well, take a closer look…

What’s the Sunshine Project? Look here.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

