Sunshine Project – Day 19, Swimming Pool, Glenside, PA

So, it’s 12 degrees at nine o’clock this morning, and naturally, you think of going to the pool, don’t you?

Of course not. So that’s why I did.

Sunshine, January 8, 2015.

Sunshine, January 8, 2015.

Actually, it is a beautiful day, though very cold, and we still have snow on the ground. But there is plenty of sunshine and a bright blue sky. I stopped at our township pool, which is about a mile from my house, right next to the library.

The pool.

The pool.

I have a long association with pools, water, and swimming. I learned to swim more than 50 years ago and swam in my first swim meet in 1966. I competed through high school and a couple of years in college. I lifeguarded and coached a summer swim team for three years. Then life intervened and for many years I did not swim at all. I got back into it about eight years ago – I even swam in a (Senior games) meet in 2011. I’ve recently coached triathlon swimmers as well.

I haven’t been swimming much or at all in the past year, but I recently joined the Y and the pool there is lovely. So I will be back in the water soon.

But I digress. I really meant to say that the pool and swimming are part of my earliest memories. The smell of chlorine mixed with suntan lotion is one of the most soothing odors I can think of. This township pool is full of kids in the summer and I can see the same patterns being played out – swim team practice, Marco Polo games, griping at the interruption of adult swim time every hour, playing cards on a spread-out beach towel – the pool is great.

The sunshine is set just inside the entry gate.

The sunshine is set just inside the entry gate.

I put this sunshine through the gate into the entry area. In the summer this is where member tags are checked. From here I can almost smell the chlorine even now. I think this sunshine may be here for a while, but that’s ok. We don’t have too long to wait until the pool opens.

This gate will be open and swimmers will be streaming in, in only about 5 months!

This gate will be open and swimmers will be streaming in, in only about 5 months!

Find out more about the Sunshine Project here.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

One response to “Sunshine Project – Day 19, Swimming Pool, Glenside, PA

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 59, Playground, Glenside, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

