Sunshine Project – Day 27, Building, Glenside, PA

This afternoon I decided to drop off a sunshine at this location – a former theater turned office building.

Theater turned office building.

Once a theater, now an office building.

I don’t have any connection to this place. I don’t know what kind of businesses are in the building and I’ve never been inside it. It’s just one more structure located just off an intersection I drive through almost daily. I’ve taken walks here in the neighborhood for years, and my hairdresser and my dentist (site of an earlier sunshine drop-off — I checked and the sunshine is gone…) are across the street from the building. Somehow this building has attracted my attention. I always take note of it when I am here. I check on it. I feel somehow connected to it.

The building in its setting. I am standing on the sidewalk in front of my dentist's office to take this picture.

The building in its setting. I am standing on the sidewalk in front of my dentist’s office to take this picture.

Why? For one thing, I like its looks. It’s never been a theater since I’ve known it, although it’s obvious that’s what it once was – I’d guess one of those built in a Moorish or Spanish style popular in the 1920’s or 1930’s. It’s not very big – probably just a little neighborhood theater here in this small commercial area.

It’s had a recent sprucing-up, which pleases me. I am happy the building is being cared for.

You see, I think of buildings as having personalities, life, feelings. I have always loved architecture and I especially love old buildings that have persevered and adapted. I am sure that the builders of this theater did not anticipate its use as an office building today, but then – I would hope they would see that their work led to a structure that has been useful and appreciated all this time.

It just seems very important to me that I recognize and acknowledge the presence of endurance wherever I see it. Survival is everything.

Sunshine in place.

Sunshine in place.

If you come from the parking lot, you'll walk right down this sidewalk and pass the sunshine on your right.

If you come from the parking lot, you’ll walk right down this sidewalk and pass the sunshine on your right.

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, January 16, 2015.

Sunshine, January 16, 2015.

Here is an explanation of the Sunshine Project.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

One response to “Sunshine Project – Day 27, Building, Glenside, PA

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 29, Building, Glenside, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

