Sunshine Project – Day 28, Laundromat, Glenside, PA

The idea came into my head this morning to leave a sunshine at a laundromat.

Sunshine, January 16, 2015.

Sunshine, January 16, 2015.

The location was suggested by several recent thoughts:

1. A big pile of laundry in my basement laundry room, where I am fortunate enough to have my own washer and dryer – I thought about how happy I was not to have to lug it out to wash somewhere.

2. A recent conversation with my son about the features of his new apartment which included extolling the virtues of the washer/dryer stack set in the closet. And when we visited a couple of weeks ago, his fiancée opened the closet door with a flourish to show them off. I knew just what they felt, remembering my early years on my own and the complicated arrangements for doing wash that I had to come up with.

3. A reality show on the TV at the gym (I know, but it makes the time go so much faster) in which people look for a new apartment – in this one, one of the decision points was the availability of in-apartment laundry facilities. The couple went for the apartment with the beach access over the home laundry – and I don’t care how good the computer app is for the thoroughly-wired washer and dryer availability, or how gleamingly-metallic the machines are in the snow-white laundry room, you are still dragging your duffel bag around the building. The beach isn’t going anywhere but the laundry room, well, it can control your life.

4. Remembering my childhood washer/dryer situation. We kept them in the garage, having no basement – everyone around us did the same. The washer needed a light bulb rigged up next to it in the winter to keep the pipes from freezing. We hid our back door key in a jar placed in the dryer (which was right next to the back door in the always-unlocked garage). The water heater kept them company just a few feet away. A cozy little group.

By the way, laundromats were called “wishy-washies” in my home town.

So, a laundromat it was. I chose this nice new location right next to the miniature golf (closed now for winter, but think of this – you could put your clothes in and then play a round while you waited. I can’t do that at home.) I set the sunshine on the ledge next to the door,  right beside the brick they use to keep the door open in hot weather.

Wash Up sign 1-17-15

 

Directions on how to use the machines. I don't understand any of it.

Directions on how to use the machines. I don’t understand any of it.

 

Row after row of washers and driers. A wash in  one of the big machines cost $4.25 and was the equivalent of 4 regular loads. I remember paying 25 cents and thinking it was outrageously expensive. Times change...

Row after row of washers and driers. A wash in one of the big machines costs $4.25 and is the equivalent of 4 regular loads. I remember paying 25 cents and thinking it was outrageously expensive. Times change…

I took a look around inside. It smelled clean, like detergent. A good smell. The sun shone through the windows. A couple of people were doing their Saturday morning laundry, moving slowly and deliberately through loading washers and folding clothes. The seats looked comfortable and there are even bathrooms. Clearly doing laundry here, while not as convenient as at home, would still be a pleasant experience, as chores go. Happy sunshine.

There is something soothing about the sight of so many machines devoted to doing a job that's not so glamorous but so necessary. Everyone needs clean clothes.

There is something soothing about the sight of so many machines devoted to doing a job that’s not glamorous but very necessary. Everyone needs clean clothes.

 

Want to know more about the Sunshine Project? It’s easy. Look here. Or search under the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

