Sunshine Project – Day 30, Reservoir, Fort Washington, PA

I had a vague idea of where to drop off a sunshine today, but – my husband and I were driving down the highway and I noticed a small body of water off to the right. I’ve seen it many times and thought nothing about it. But the blue sky reflected in the icy water made such a sparkly and fresh picture that I decided right there to make it my stop for today.

So, we got off  the highway. We  knew roughly where to go and we knew exactly what the water was – a local reservoir. When you live in an area for decades you do know things like that. But, I know I’d never been there and my husband said he hadn’t visited since childhood. It’s another of those places hidden in plain sight.

Loch Alsh Reservoir 1-19-15

We parked in a tiny lot. The dam was in front of us and a giant water tower stood to the left. A small park surrounded the reservoir. What a nice spot! I spotted some brand-new-looking picnic tables under a grove of trees. That is where I left the sunshine. It may be some time before someone picks it up, although we thought the park must be a popular dog-walking area for the surrounding neighborhood. It is a little cold for picnicking!

I marvel again at the capacity of the well-known to surprise me. I had no idea this little spot of peace and quiet existed, though it’s within sight of a highway. I plan to come back in warmer weather and eat lunch here. I also think it could be a great location for a plein air painting session.

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, January 19, 2015.

Sunshine, January 19, 2015.

You just feel you need to know more about the Sunshine Project? Look here for background, or search the category “Sunshine Project” for other entries.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

5 responses to “Sunshine Project – Day 30, Reservoir, Fort Washington, PA

  1. Sharon Mann

    Beautiful location! Please post the plein air art you make.

  2. nannus

    Looks like this could be a nice place when the weather is warm.

  3. nannus

    This article was one of the inspirations to what I wrote today: http://asifoscope.org/2015/01/20/turning-the-other-way/
    Looks like this sunshine project causes you to turn a lot of other ways. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

