Sunshine Project – Day 32, Traffic Circle, Glenside, PA

Today is a special day in the Sunshine Project.

A little background – the project is set to run from December 21 to March 21. Today is January 21. So, I think you may see what I mean. We have four 21’s – the beginning one, and then three that mark the end of one-third of winter.

Yes, the first one-third has gone by already! So quickly, I thought. Time is really passing. When I mentioned the significance of today to my husband, he told me that I needed to find a clock for today’s sunshine.

So that’s how I ended up here at the traffic circle in the Keswick Village section of Glenside. This turnaround used to be a Y-shaped intersection of three roads and no one ever knew who was supposed to have the right of way. About 20 years ago, or maybe a little less, this circle was built. In the summer it is a beautiful sight – red roses blooming on the bushes planted all around the clock. Even in winter it’s pleasant.

Traffic circle, Keswick Village, 1-21-15

I set the sunshine down on the clock’s base. As I did so I noticed a twist of wire already there. Intriguing, I thought. Did someone put it there on purpose? Did it fall off something? Did someone pick it up and set it down here just to get it out of the way? I considered taking it for the Claudia McGill Museum, my collection of metal things I pick up from the street, but I decided to let it be. So the sunshine had some company today.

I reflected a bit on the progress of the Sunshine Project so far. When I thought of it, I just wanted a way to count the days through winter. I figured I’d drop off a sunshine, snap a picture, and that would be it. But it has become more than that to me. It provides a framework and an activity for each day. I look forward to deciding where to place a sunshine. I enjoy actually doing it. And I really love the insights I get each day about the world around me. I can never predict what I will see or think about when I set the sunshine down. I just have to go there and do it and see what happens.

I decided to do one more activity for today. In honor of January 21, I bought a lottery ticket – 121. Well, I didn’t win anything, but I enjoyed trying my luck. What an interesting day already, I thought.

Lottery ticket small

Happy Sunshine. Happy Sunshine. Happy Sunshine!

Sunshine, January 21, 2015.

Sunshine, January 21, 2015.

More about the Sunshine Project here, or search the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

One response to “Sunshine Project – Day 32, Traffic Circle, Glenside, PA

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 56, Florist, Glenside, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

