Sunshine Project – Day 35, Post Office, Bryn Athyn, PA

After an overnight snowfall the whole world looked fresh and clean, reduced to shades of black and white. Looking at the trees outside my house I thought of my walk yesterday along the abandoned part of the rail line. At the other end of the rail trail stretches a couple of miles more of unused track slated for conversion to a trail next summer. I wondered what that area looks like today. It’s too overgrown to travel now, not to mention covered with ice and snow, but I did know of a place where I could get a glimpse of it.

So my husband and I went to the Bryn Athyn post office. It’s located in the old train station dating from when the line was active. The trail will pass right next to the old platform.

The sunshine is set on the left hand barrier pole next to the building (a bit to the left of the window). I put the postcard in this mailbox.

The sunshine is set on the left hand barrier pole next to the building (a bit to the left of the window). I put the postcard in this mailbox.

I had another purpose for my trip. I wanted to put a mail art postcard in the mail to my son. For a long time I sent him mail art almost every day. It was a way just between the two of us to stay in touch. I fell out of the habit when I was ill. Now I want to resume things. So in my mind this trip is a re-dedication to this activity and an underlining of my intentions.

The post office was very busy. For such a tiny place it gets a lot of traffic. I wonder if many people in the immediate area are using post office boxes for some reason – no home delivery? I will have to investigate. I do know that Bryn Athyn is a unique community for several reasons and so maybe things are arranged differently there. (For another Bryn Athyn post look here.)

Or maybe people just like to come to the post office and see their neighbors. We noticed that everyone seemed to greet each other.

I set the sunshine on one of the barrier posts. People can see it as they go in the building.

Sunshine, January 24, 2015.

Sunshine, January 24, 2015.

Happy sunshine.

More Sunshine Project information needed or wanted? Look here, or search under the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

3 responses to “Sunshine Project – Day 35, Post Office, Bryn Athyn, PA

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 67, Post Office, Fort Washington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  2. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 72, Trail, Huntingdon Valley, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  3. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Update on Two Participants | Sometimes You Get So Confused

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

