Sunshine Project – Day 39, Library, Glenside, PA

Now that the weather has settled down a bit, I’m back on track with my Poetry Marathon – today was Day 3. I had wanted to take the sunshine with me to whatever location I chose for writing poetry. Today’s the first day I’ve gotten the two to coordinate. So, I took the sunshine to the Landman Library at Arcadia University. My plan was to find a good spot for it and also to settle in a comfortable place for poetry writing. The library fit the bill.

Library, Arcadia University.

Library, Arcadia University.

Arcadia is about a mile from my house. I have some association with it from past studies – I took Spanish there for several semesters, maybe about 15 years ago or so. I did not take the classes for credit as I already had a college degree (my alma mater is Bryn Mawr College, also local). It was a pastime for me and I got a lot out of it. The school was very accommodating to me and I’ve always felt at home here.

Grey Towers Castle, Arcadia University.

Grey Towers Castle, Arcadia University. This is a side view of the building as seen from the library. It’s a local landmark.

There have been a lot of changes in the past 15 years – several new buildings have been constructed. But the library is familiar to me from the past. I went inside, found a study carrel, set myself up, and did my poetry thing. Then, when I was finished, I looked for a good spot for the sunshine.

Walking through the stacks I found myself in front of Joseph Conrad’s works. It seemed serendipitous. I did my senior honors thesis in college on this author, and I have wonderful memories of the process of writing it. I was especially fortunate to have two very good advisors who supported me academically and personally through the project.

So I set the sunshine right there on the shelf with Joseph Conrad. Happy sunshine!

Sunshine, January 28, 2015.

Sunshine, January 28, 2015.

 

More about the Sunshine Project is here for you to read, or you can search under the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

