Sunshine Project – Day 48, Library, Wyndmoor, PA

Today the sunshine and I took a short drive to the Springfield Township Library, about eight minutes from home. I planned to do some editing of poems from my recent Poetry Marathon.

Today's location.

Today’s location.

More poetry editing.

More poetry editing.

I am lucky to live near so many libraries. We have a large population locally and so each municipal area generally has its own public library. In our county, these libraries are all affiliated and a card-holder can check out books from any one of them. We can also order them online and have them sent to our home libraries, and we can return them to our home libraries, even if they did not come from there. It’s a great system.

So I don’t often go to other libraries anymore to check out books, as I can just order them. This trip to Springfield, even though it is so close, is the first time I’ve been there in a few years. This library is small by today’s standards, built in the 1960’s. It’s crowded. But I found a table and got to work.

On my way out I noticed an architectural drawing of the interior of a library. Hmmm, I thought. Outside, I noticed stakes in the ground with pink ties attached. Hmmm, I thought. When I got home I checked and sure enough, there are plans for a new library, township building, and police station. On the same site but brand new. I think that’s great. I don’t know the timeframe but it looks like things are moving along.

The tell-tale sign of future construction work...

The tell-tale sign of future construction work…

I set the sunshine on the bench in the porch. It’s next to the book drop. Sheltered but readily visible. I appreciated the hospitality of the Springfield Township Library today.

On my way out the car a great flock of geese rose up from a nearby athletic field. Honking, they separated themselves into V’s as I watched and flew off. Nothing to do with the library, but – a great sight. Seemed to put a nice finish to the afternoon.

geese in sky 2-6-15

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, February 6, 2015.

Sunshine, February 6, 2015.

More more more about the Sunshine Project right here. Or – search under the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

