Sunshine Project – Day 51, Library, Huntingdon Valley, PA

Today is one of those messy days that give February a bad name. Though this kind of weather is not as dramatic as a snowstorm, in some ways it’s harder to deal with – rain when the temperatures are right at freezing. You never know what you might get when you venture out. And so it was today. We had a cold, raw Monday on our hands, with a threat of ice hanging over it.

So I decided I needed to go to a warm welcoming place, and I thought of the library, since I wanted to do some more Poetry Marathon editing (I do think the first pass over all the poems is finished. Good!). I decided to go to the Huntingdon Valley Library – I’ve never been inside, though I’ve gotten a lot of books from them through our county library swapping system.

Back entrance, Huntingdon Valley Library.

Back entrance, Huntingdon Valley Library.

The library is part of the municipal complex in Lower Moreland Township, about fifteen minutes from my house. It’s a newer addition to an existing old building set up on a hill. It has nice windows and a warm sunny interior – and of course the rows of books! I love to see so many books in one place.

Books. Books. Books.

Books. Books. Books.

Anyway, I went in the rear entrance since that’s where I found parking. Up some stairs and then into the library is how it goes. I liked the little garden area at the entrance and I am sure it is very inviting in the summertime.

Garden at the back entrance.

Garden at the back entrance.

This time I decided to set the sunshine on a shelf at random. I just walked around a few minutes and then I stopped – at a shelf of books on foreign countries, travel and history, it seemed. Great. The sunshine settled right down.

The sunshine is just peeking out next to the dark book at the far right.

The sunshine is just peeking out next to the dark book at the far right.

I did my poetry work and a couple of hours later I was ready to go. I decided to leave from the front upstairs door and walk around the building. I looked around a bit at the layout of the library. I even checked the copy machine room and the rows of brochures. I do find it interesting what pamphlets people feel library-goers will be interested in and I always look them over.

Every library I have ever been to has a display like this one. I always look.

Every library I have ever been to has a display like this one. I always look.

Outside the sidewalk was a little icy and the grass crunchy from the rain that had fallen while I was inside. I had to watch my step in places that hadn’t been salted. But I had to look at a little garden next to the front entrance – the statue illustrates what the library is all about.

I forgot to say earlier – as I was leaving a couple of library volunteers, students, I think, were doing some work on shelves near the sunshine. The sunshine was still there but I wonder if they came upon it this afternoon?

The sign on the door says it all.

The sign on the door says it all.

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, February 9, 2015.

Sunshine, February 9, 2015.

Find out more about the Sunshine Project by looking here, or else you can always search the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

