Sunshine Project – Day 55, School, Wyncote, PA

Today is a special day – Friday the 13th. I’m not (very) superstitious, but I thought I’d place the sunshine somewhere related to the themes the day celebrates, just for luck. I didn’t have far to go – I decided on the high school located across the street from my house.

They’ve been doing a roof replacement and other construction for some weeks now, and where there are builders, there are – ladders. Such as, don’t walk under one!

Work is going on and so there is a need for a lot of miscellaneous bits and pieces of everything.

Work is going on and so there is a need for a lot of miscellaneous bits and pieces of everything.

My husband and I went over to the school. The work is taking place on the “new” wing, built in 1966; the “old” part is dated 1956. This wing sticks out at the back of the school. I am always sympathetic to schools with additions like this one. The original design is meant to be complete and coherent and then the poor building is forced to accept an appendage.

Part of the "new" wing. They seem to be replacing the flashing at the top edge right now. I like the 1960's detail  of the brickwork. And, I like the orange brick, although it's not everyone's taste. I think it looks just right.

Part of the “new” wing. They seem to be replacing the flashing at the top edge right now. I like the 1960’s detail of the brickwork. And, I like the orange brick, although it’s not everyone’s taste. I think it looks just right.

Work on this “appendage” is progressing on two sides of the building. I set the sunshine on the outer side on a pile of boards. I felt that someone would see it quite readily. There were no ladders here, though.

On the other side of the building we saw a couple of ladders. One was leaning nonchalantly against a dumpster. The other was hard at work; two workmen were maneuvering it to do some work around a doorway.

Today is miserably cold, about 10 degrees when we were there at eight AM, and there is a stiff wind. Construction work is hard in these conditions. I am thinking maybe the workers will leave early today and the ladders can be folded up, having caused absolutely no bad luck.

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, February 13, 2015.

Sunshine, February 13, 2015.

There’s a place to find out more about the Sunshine Project – look here or search under “Sunshine Project” in the category list.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

