Sunshine Project – Day 64, Office Building, Abington, PA

It snowed a few inches last night and then the temperature went up for a one-day reprieve from the bitter cold we’ve been having. It turned sunny and bright and the snow began a speed-melt. One of those winter days when spring peeks in just a bit; it reminded me of gardens and flowers, and I thought of a place I’ve been meaning to set a sunshine. The time just hasn’t seemed right, until today.

I am referring to the medical office building I visited over the past two years for my hand infection. It’s not my favorite place on earth at all, but I have wanted to go back there in good health and let go of the experiences associated with it. I haven’t liked even to drive past it. But the burst of sunshine and warmth today gave me the push to make peace with the memory.

So my husband and I drove to the building. On Sunday, it’s deserted. The garage was dank and melting snow was
dripping everywhere. We went out to the gardens surrounding the building – they run all along the back. In the past I always found them calming and soothing – there were lots of bright flowers and grasses soaking up the sun. Today of course it is all bare, but it still looked peaceful. I set the sunshine on one of the walls near a bench. I remember seeing people sitting out here in the good weather.

After looking around a little, we went back to the garage to leave. I noticed the frost on the window of the elevator vestibule – what delicate patterns here in this miserable setting!

As I took the pictures, an enormous roar kicked up from above – a man was driving a little slow-plow around the upstairs level, which is open to the sky. What a racket. At the same time, we noticed that the automatic door to the vestibule seemed to have gone haywire – it kept opening and shutting, opening and shutting…It may still be doing it for all I know. I found this very amusing to think about.

Anyway, the visit was worth it. I did not have to be at this building – I chose to go there for my own reasons. And I could leave any time I wanted and I didn’t have to come back. A very nice change from the past.

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, February 22, 2015.

Sunshine, February 22, 2015.

Look right here for more about the Sunshine Project or search under “Sunshine Project” in the categories.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

2 responses to “Sunshine Project – Day 64, Office Building, Abington, PA

  1. Admirable! It takes courage to drive ourselves to make peace with uneasy memories…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

