Sunshine Project – Day 67, Post Office, Fort Washington, PA

I’ve been working on some collage poetry and I put a couple of the compositions on postcards – really, what I did was cut strips of cardboard from a box, painted them, and then glued on the poetry. Collage poetry is a nice relaxing way to spend an afternoon and that’s what I did yesterday, just so you know!

Anyway, I wanted to send one postcard to my son. I’ve followed the activity of sending mail art to him for some years. I got off track with my illness. Now I’ve started it up again. This is the first one I’ve done with collage poetry in a long time.

The mail, the kind with postal delivery workers, mail trucks, stamps, envelopes, dropping an item into a metal box and knowing the actual item will travel anywhere in the world I want to send it – this kind of mail is special to me, as I have said before. I truly value the effort that is put into someone’s communications with me – from the sender all the way through the process. Younger people are not so attuned to this feeling – email is efficient but it doesn’t have the same emotional effect, and I am sorry for the change. On the other hand, if we didn’t have electronic communications, we might not think of the postal mail as special.

I don’t want to go back to the old ways – I want both! That’s what I am saying.

So I decided to take a sunshine with me to the post office to mail this artwork/poetry/greeting. I chose the Fort Washington location – it’s a new building and a big operations center for the local area. I set the sunshine on the counter containing slips to be filled out for certified mail, etc.

Then I took my item to the post box and dropped it through. It’s off! On its way through many hands and snowy landscapes. Look out. Here it comes!

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine in place, February 25, 2015.

Sunshine in place, February 25, 2015.

If you want more sunshine info, look here! Or search under the “Sunshine Project” category.

If you want more information on my mail art or about my collage poetry, try these places:
Claudia McGill and Her Art World and search under the category Mail Art
Claudia McGill Writes Poetry, Did You Know That? and search under the category Collage Poetry

Other post office-related Sunshine Project posts:

Day 2

Day 35

Day 38

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

