Sunshine Project – Day 69, Parking Garage, Fort Washington, PA

Since today is Friday, the traditional best day of the work week, I thought I would set the sunshine in an office environment. Add a little sunshine to the workplace, literally and figuratively, maybe? Anyway, the location that came to mind was the parking garage associated with a collection of office buildings not too far from me.

Office park view from the upper level of the garage.

Office park view from the upper level of the garage.

These buildings are located in an area undergoing some change – it’s been an industrial park for decades and then tried to turn more upscale with the construction of office buildings. This garage, a vast open expanse of concrete on two levels, was built to accommodate the hordes of workers who would populate those buildings.

Things have not worked out that way, though. The suburban office market is glutted and there are many vacancies. The buildings themselves wouldn’t betray this state of affairs from the outside (unless you see the “For Lease” signs) but the parking lot tells the story. At the time of the morning I stopped by, I would have thought there would be a lot of traffic coming in and plenty of parked cars. Not the case. The roads were open and I could have had my choice of hundreds of spaces to park in.

I set the sunshine on the base of a light post. It’s nearest the entrance to the lot and to the adjacent building, so it can spread its influence all the better, I hope. I went away from this location feeling as if I had discovered a secret someone had been trying to hide behind a good front. It was a little disconcerting and I hadn’t expected it.

It’s also interesting to me that at this same time of the morning the parking lots at the train stations for commuting to the city are full. Not long ago it was thought that suburban offices such as these were the wave of the future, but now people seem to want to work in the city. I’ll make no predictions, I’m just observing the landscape!

I did think the nice open space would be great for skateboarding or learning to ride a bike or to drive a car. There were signs forbidding the first idea but the other two – why not?

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, February 27, 2015.

Sunshine, February 27, 2015.

If you want to know more about the Sunshine Project, it is easy – look here, or search under the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

