Sunshine Project – Day 72, Trail, Huntingdon Valley, PA

Yesterday afternoon we had sleet and rain after snow, so the ground was covered with an icy surface this morning. But, it’s March now, and getting less harsh, and so things cleared up on the roads pretty quickly. The sun was shining down at us, good and strong.  I decided to check on things at the Pennypack Trail and take the sunshine along.

I went to the current end of the trail at Welsh Road – about 1.5 miles from where I usually pick up the trail in Lorimer Park. The parking lot was empty today.

My car is the only one in sight today.

My car is the only one in sight today.

I walked over to the gate at the trail’s beginning. My husband and I had tried to take a walk on the trail a couple of weeks ago, but it was a sheet of ice. The warning signs are still up but I think they will be gone before long.

trail closed sign 3-2-15

The trail has a lot of snow/ice still on it, but in the warmer temperatures and sunlight, it was more of a slush.

pennypack trail - Welsh Road end

I was so happy to see puddles instead of iced-over potholes.

I set the sunshine on the gatepost. I know that someone will find it – when the signs are taken down, if not sooner.

I took a look around while I was there. The parking lot is set in a pretty nondescript spot – there are some factory/warehouse buildings nearby. It’s hard for much to be built here since the area is a flood plain.

This end-point is where the extension of the trail will be done this summer. It will continue across the street, passing, among other things, an old station that’s now the Bryn Athyn post office. I realized that it really won’t be long before that work is done. What seemed to be far off in the future is really coming closer now.

A poster showing the Pennypack trail,  tacked on to the information board at the parking lot.

A poster showing the Pennypack trail, tacked on to the information board at the parking lot.

Happy Sunshine.

Sunshine, March 2, 2015.

Sunshine, March 2, 2015.

Like to know more about the Sunshine Project? Look here, or search under the “Sunshine Project” category.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

2 responses to “Sunshine Project – Day 72, Trail, Huntingdon Valley, PA

  1. I love the windows and rust streaks, it’s like a painting, or a collage, or perhaps a quilt? Like time very slowly dismantling the new, leaving only the essential.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

