Sunshine Project – Day 77, Park, Fort Washington, PA

Today the sunshine had its choice of spots, in a funny kind of way…and here is what happened. My husband and I stopped at Mondauk Park (we left a sunshine here out on the walking trail about 60 days ago). I wanted to put the sunshine on a picnic table in the main pavilion. This park is very popular almost all year round – it has ball fields, a walking trail, lots of benches, tot lot – you name it. But today it was deserted. I thought a stop here would bring along thoughts of spring for sure.

So I set the sunshine on a table and even took its picture. Then we walked around the side of the building to look over the (closed for the season!) snack window and the tot lot. My husband said, “Isn’t that one of those Little Free Libraries out there?”

Well, I thought we’d better take a look. We found another Little Free Library in the past weeks and now we’re hooked on the idea. I grabbed up the sunshine, just in case – I wanted to set it inside with the books.

We went out through the snow, following the tracks of a cross-country skier. As an aside, skiing like this doesn’t happen that often here and I am sure this person was having a great time. The tracks went all over the park.

Ski tracks.

Ski tracks.

Sure enough, it was a Little Free Library! So in the sunshine went.

The library “building” is set in a good place and I think people will be drawn to it when good weather returns. It is sponsored by the Friends of the Upper Dublin Public Library and it’s been there only since September 2014. It’s got a great view across the fields, too.

Now that I know of a couple of these little libraries, I will put a couple of books in my car and be ready to trade. I look forward to that!

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, March 7, 2015.

Sunshine, March 7, 2015.

Are you interested in knowing more about the Sunshine Project? Look here or else you can search under the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

3 responses to “Sunshine Project – Day 77, Park, Fort Washington, PA

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Day 79, Library, Fort Washington, PA | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  2. Pingback: Tree Flying a Kite | Sometimes You Get So Confused

  3. Pingback: A Clean Start | Sometimes You Get So Confused

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

