Sunshine Project – Day 78, Swimming Pool, Philadelphia, PA

Today my husband and I went to the YMCA district meet. It took place on the campus of LaSalle University in their very nice pool. We have a swimmer as a friend, along with her whole family, and we wanted to cheer her on.

Swim meets are very familiar to me. I was a competitive swimmer in my childhood at a fairly high-profile program, and participating in swim meets was everyday stuff for me. Some of my earliest memories involve water, the pool, and swimming. I’ve always liked being in the water and I really enjoy watching swim meets.

So we took a sunshine to the swim meet. Outside, there is still snow on the ground, but inside, you enter the tropics when you walk in the door of the natatorium. We wore long pants over our shorts and peeled them off when we got to our seats. In order to find my friends, I had to text them and be directed to the location in the stands – there were a couple of thousand people there, I am sure, and this section of the meet only included one age group, boys and girls.

The crowd.

The crowd.

The meet ran very efficiently. Each event had a starting time and the heats moved along right on schedule. We watched some good races and our friend did very well in her events.

And of course there are a lot of other things going on. People need to eat…

…cheer for friends and relatives…

Swim Fast Catherine

…and check out the results of the events.

Looking over the results.

Looking over the results.

I set the sunshine high above the pool on the area behind the last row of seats. We had a great time and I’m so happy that we could attend the swim meet.

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, March 8, 2015.

Sunshine, March 8, 2015.

If you want to know more about the Sunshine Project, look right here, or search under the “Sunshine Project” category.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

2 responses to “Sunshine Project – Day 78, Swimming Pool, Philadelphia, PA

  1. Sharon Mann

    Thanks for sharing your day and and a little sunshine.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

