Sunshine Project – Day 84, Trail, Huntingdon Valley, PA

We have a rainy gray day today. I wanted to put the sunshine in place open to the rain to mark this kind of day, one that’s transitional between winter and spring. I thought of a spot that I used to go to very often, but in the last two years, my health has prevented me from doing so. I am talking about the trails at the Pennypack Ecological Restoration Trust, a wilderness area about 20 minutes away from my house.

Pennypack Wilderness sign 3-14-15 small

Before my illness, my husband and I ran here on the trails. The trust includes about 10 miles of trails located in the watershed of the Pennypack Creek. It’s a stunning area at any time of the year and the trails are challenging and scenic. We have a particular route we have favored, though there is plenty of ground to cover and varied landscapes in the acreage the trust manages.

The name Pennypack Creek may be familiar if you have read some of my other posts – it also flows through Lorimer Park. The same railroad that went through that park, and has been turned into a rail trail, followed the opposite side of the Pennypack Creek in this area. So what that means is when the rail trail is extended this summer it will go along this same creek, only on the other side. I wonder if they will connect the two sides somehow – I hope so.

We drove down a little road to an entrance to the trail – this section is called the Pennypack Parkway. (Here’s a great map of the area if you want to see it – today, we entered the park at the upper-right-hand corner at Pennypack Road.)

Entrance to the Pennypack Parkway.

Entrance to the Pennypack Parkway.

Many people use these trails for exercise, bird watching, dog walking, and so on. Today it was quiet because of the rain. We walked up to the beginning of the trail and looked around. The rain had slowed a bit.

There are always details to notice. Here are a few of the things I saw.

I set the sunshine on the edge of the information board. We noticed that the little kiosk had taken on the role of lost and found – someone’s keys and gloves were hanging from the roof. I hope the owner reclaims them. And, I would like to know more about Joe…

Coming here today reminded me how much I have enjoyed running along this trail. I want to return and set off down this path again as soon as I can.

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, March 14, 2015.

Sunshine, March 14, 2015.

And there is always more to learn about the Sunshine Project – look here, or search under the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

One response to “Sunshine Project – Day 84, Trail, Huntingdon Valley, PA

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Project – Update on Two Participants | Sometimes You Get So Confused

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

