Sunshine Project – Day 85, Theater, Ambler, PA

This afternoon I took the sunshine to the theater. Or at least to the threshold of the theater.

Here is the story. My husband and I sometimes go to plays put on by local theaters or colleges and we enjoy the experience. At Christmas 2013, my son and his girlfriend (now fiancée!) gave us a gift certificate for the Act II Playhouse in Ambler, about 15 minutes from home. I was not able to go because of my health during their last season; but this year, things are different. So we attended this play, Unnecessary Farce, courtesy of that gift certificate, and had a great time.

Program Unnecessary Farce 3-15-15 small

The theater is the small and comfortable, located on the main street in Ambler. We went to a matinee performance. I prefer them because honestly, I get tired and lose attention at night. I know this about myself and so, an afternoon performance is made for me.

Before we went in, I set the sunshine on the sidewalk next to the building. I felt it would greet every person who came in the theater.

Our seats were up high and at the back. I prefer to sit in the back because I can find the actors almost overwhelming if I am closer. And I like the vantage point of being up above the action.

We watched the crowd file in. I would have to say we were among the youngest people there. I also have to say that thirty years ago I still would have preferred to be going to a show in the afternoon. It’s not just for retirees. That’s what I say! No matter, the theater was full.

I was also interested in the array of lighting above our heads. You don’t notice it unless you look for it, but you do notice the effect it has on the performance.

The play was really funny. You can tell by the title what to expect, and it certainly didn’t disappoint. It was fast-paced and full of people running in and out of doors. Plenty of laughing going on in that audience. The time flew by.

When we left, we went out the side entrance and so got a chance to see the stage closer up. It’s in disarray, a change from the neatly set-up rooms depicted at the beginning of the play. I reflected on how the physical surroundings reflected the unraveling of the characters’ situations – some for the better and some for the worse, all funny.

After the play was over.

After the play was over.

I was really happy to be able to attend this play. It’s one more step away from my illness and toward enjoying everyday things. And I am so glad I got to use my son and (future) daughter-in-law’s gift – I appreciate their thoughtfulness in choosing something that we would really enjoy.

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, March 15, 2015.

Sunshine, March 15, 2015.

Take a look here if you want to know more about the Sunshine Project, or search the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

