Sunshine Project – Day 87, Green Ribbon Trail, Fort Washington, PA

Exactly one year ago today I was at my lowest point in my two-year illness. It’s a date that is etched in my memory. I won’t go into any more detail, because – it’s a year later, and that means from now on, when I think of a year ago, my memories of bad health and troubles will be turned toward recovery and change and better times. It’s what the whole Sunshine Project has been about, helping me to get through the worst memories and make new ones that are good.

So, where was I today? We had a gray, mild morning. I decided to go for a run at another of my favorite sites, the Green Ribbon Trail. I have a route I follow – it’s shaped like a Y. I start at the base, go up one arm of the Y and back to the intersection, follow the other side, and then back to the beginning to make a 5.2 mile run.

And think about it – it’s St. Patrick’s Day. What better way to celebrate than to traverse the GREEN Ribbon Trail, right?

I had a place in mind for the sunshine, a couple of miles away. I decided to take photos and go easy on my way there, and then get back to solid running after the sunshine was set in place.

So I started off at the picnic area.

I checked the status of this suburban farm – these people have a thriving business selling produce and eggs and so on that they grow in their large back yard. I could hear the rooster crowing.

Suburban Farm Green Ribbon Trail 3-17-15 small

This downed tree caught my eye. The practice is that when a tree falls, it is cleared from the trail and the pieces stay where they are left. The section with two circles was very interesting to me and I tried to visualize what the tree must have looked like to have grown in this way.

I came to the bridge across the Wissahickon Creek. Much of the trail runs in the flood plain of this creek. I left a sunshine on the bridge some time back – it’s gone now.

Bridge over the Wissahickon 3-17-15 small

I saw this tree and the home that some creature has created in it. When I see trees standing in water like this, I always think they must have cold feet, but this one doesn’t seem to be bothered.

I saw the Lost and Found Department on the side of the trail. Interesting combination here, a flip-flop and a winter glove meeting up like this.

Lost and found Green Ribbon Trail 3-17-15 small

These trees reflected in the icy water – I thought the cracks in the ice mimicked the tree branches, or maybe it’s the other way around?

Reflection of trees in water plus ice Green Ribbon Trail 3-17-15 small

I came to the spot where I wanted to set the sunshine. I chose this bench – it’s a new one.

I love the view the bench has, looking over the creek as it does. This location is picturesque in all seasons.

Now that I had dropped off the sunshine, I resolved to make better time. I ran for another 20 minutes, I guess, but I got stopped by a couple of view I just had to inspect. One thing led to another, and here is how it went. First thing to grab my attention was this stump – I saw it as a troll.

Troll?

Troll?

Then, since I had stopped, I had time to notice snowdrops! A great big group of them just beyond the “troll”.

These are the first snowdrops I have seen this year.

These are the first snowdrops I have seen this year.

A few steps further on, this big sycamore tree, with its limb reaching out over the water, called me for a closer look.

As I went back to the paved trail, I crossed an area of sand, gravel and other bits and pieces that the winter storms had washed up. I don’t know about the shell, but I knew right away what the other items were as soon as I saw them – they are pieces of terracotta garden pots that have been tumbled and smoothed by the friction of water and stones. They were cool and damp in my hand.

Shell and Clay pieces Green Ribbon 3-17-15 small

I went the rest of the way back to the parking lot without a stop. What a change from where I was last year at this time.

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, March 17, 2015.

Sunshine, March 17, 2015.

The sunshine would love to tell you more about itself – click here, or search under “Sunshine Project” in the category list.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

3 responses to “Sunshine Project – Day 87, Green Ribbon Trail, Fort Washington, PA

  1. Sharon Mann

    What a beautiful hike, I’m so happy for you and your renewed health!

  2. Pingback: An Old Friend in Altered Circumstances | Sometimes You Get So Confused

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

