Sunshine Project – Day 90, Parking Lot, Glenside, PA

Today is one of those days when you can clearly see how the seasons change – it’s not a sharp cutoff between winter and spring, but more like waves rolling in the tide on the beach. The old season and the new one advance and retreat, until finally the point is reached and the situation set. At which point, of course, the new season begins the process with the next one.

We’ve got a little snow this morning. I decided to take the sunshine to the parking lot at the Glenside train station and while I was there, the flakes started coming down. It’s not sticking on the roads and it will turn to rain, but snow is falling today. A perfect illustration of the transition from winter to spring.

My husband parked the car on the street and went to his train. I took the sunshine and went into the parking lot. it’s a long narrow strip stretching along the tracks. The sky was dark.

Just as I stepped the flakes began to fall. A train was coming into the station, heading for the city.

Train going into GL station 3-20-15 small

I walked further out and set the sunshine on a yellow barrier pillar.

The snow was falling a bit more heavily now.

I love the array of wires at this station.

I love the array of wires at this station.

I walked back toward the car in the snow. It was an experience I don’t remember having before, being outside just as the snow started.

As I got in the car, I was struck by the way the world looked through the water-streaked windshield. I think it’s beautiful, how the droplets merge to create a blurring effect on everything outside.

I went home. The snow was falling more heavily. I took a look at the plants in my front yard. All of them were getting edgings of white from the snow.

This pot on my porch was waiting for dirt and a flower, maybe, but right now it’s getting snow. I imagined the sunshine in the parking lot already covered, waiting to emerge when the weather warms up again. Tomorrow!

Empty pot with snow in it 3-20-15 small

Happy sunshine.

Sunshine, March 20, 2015.

Sunshine, March 20, 2015.

You can look here to find out more about the Sunshine Project or you can search the category “Sunshine Project”.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

One response to “Sunshine Project – Day 90, Parking Lot, Glenside, PA

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Photos Part Four | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

