I Had No Idea

I’m going to tell you a story about how a person can go along a path for years never dreaming of the presence of a secret located literally right beneath her feet.

And of course I am talking about myself. Here is what happened.

This morning my husband and I were walking along the Green Ribbon Trail in the Fort Washington State Park. Before the Sunshine Project, I often dropped off little clay figurine women here and there. Not on a schedule, just as I felt like it. I’m returning to that tradition and I took one with us to set along the trail.

The figurine herself.

The figurine herself.

You may remember that this trail mostly follows the flood plain of the Wissahickon Creek. There is, however, a section of it that was originally the roadbed of a rail line – it cut across the countryside and passed through Flourtown about 2 miles away. There is still a slight rise in Bethlehem Pike, the main road, where the tracks passed over it and were covered up, and you can see the path of the train line (now part of a parking lot).

What’s this got to do with the figurine? Well, I wanted to set her on a little concrete bridge on the trail.

The small bridge on the Green Ribbon Trail as we approached it.

The small bridge on the Green Ribbon Trail as we approached it.

I’ve run this route for 5 or more years, but I never stopped to look over the bridge. Just never bothered.

Today I set the figurine to one side of it.

The figurine is set at the lower right hand corner on the right-hand side of the bridge.

The figurine is set at the lower right hand corner on the right-hand side of the bridge.

Then I looked over. I expected to see a culvert for water runoff. Instead, I saw what looked liked a pedestrian underpass, the kind going under countless train tracks at stations all over our area.

Looking over - here is what I saw. It's not a drainage culvert. That  I could clearly see.

Looking over – here is what I saw. It’s not a drainage culvert. That I could clearly see.

Naturally we had to investigate. So we scrambled down the bank and – here is what we saw. It was an underpass, beautifully designed and solid as a rock, for the now-extinct train line. What a dignified structure it was. We looked around a bit and then climbed back to the trail.

Curious now, we noticed a short way down the trail that the rail roadbed continues. It’s only in this season that it is apparent – any other time the vegetation disguises it. The trail makes a sharp turn away from it and I’ve run by it many times and never ever noticed.

View from the trail. The rail bed continues ahead - you might be able to see the clear space above it between the trees.

View from the trail. The rail bed continues ahead – you might be able to see the clear space above it between the trees.

We worked our along, fighting through thickets of wild raspberry bushes. Once we knew what to look for, the railroad’s path was obvious. It dead-ended at a road that, now that we knew what to look for, had obviously been raised and is now above and covering a section of the line. Walking a little further along, we could see the remnants of the line crossing a nearby golf course – a softened embankment marked its course, with a break in it for a little creek, the train bridge long gone.

We made our way back to the trail. We figured the line might have had something to do with a nearby quarry. But maybe not. We’ll have to look into it. But what is almost magic about this experience is the idea that this structure, what I thought was just an ordinary bridge, really was a gate into the past, wasn’t it?

Happy Saturday.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

One response to “I Had No Idea

  1. Pingback: Try to Keep Up | Sometimes You Get So Confused

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

