Need a Ride?

A few days ago I was waiting at a traffic light and glanced to my right. I saw this little building and, though I’m sure I’ve seen it many times before, today I paid attention to it.

It’s a small yellow-painted concrete block building sitting against the rail line and with a parking lot in front of it. No pretensions, neatly kept, and I like the touch the orange awning over the door brings to it. There is some concern for comfort of customers and workers coming in and out of that door, and yet the building is so sparely constructed that originally, even this modest covering wasn’t included. Staying with the basics is what this place is about – it’s just here to do its job.

The clarity of its function really caught my eye:  the sign reading Taxi Cab Company says it all.  No flashy catchy euphemisms. Just a plain statement of purpose and a phone number.

Overall, the get-straight-to-the-point attitude of the place appealed to me.

I’ve never taken a taxi in the suburbs that I can remember, so I don’t know how the service is. But now I know where to look if I need a ride sometime, don’t I?

Happy Tuesday.

Taxi Cab Company Glenside 3-24-15

Taxi Cab Company, Glenside, PA

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

