Nature Walk

I’m so excited that our world is greening up. I just have to say it! Look at the woods here. And what about the beautiful color of the water in the Pennypack creek? Right now I’m taking advantage of the early-season view of things – in summer it will be blocked by the masses of leaves.

Along the creek Lorimer 4-15-15 small

As I walked along the rail trail, I noticed a clump of daffodils down near the creek. I always wonder at how this isolated group arrived at this spot. It’s not as if a house or building were ever here for someone to plant them. Maybe an animal dropped a bulb or two here at some time in the past. Obviously it has worked out well – it’s a nice thick crowd of blooms for me to enjoy.

Same thought for these little white flowers. Who are they and where did they come from?

White flowers Lorimer 4-15-15 small

The ditches alongside the trail are full of rippling water and I like the look of these tiny green plants standing in it. And yet the dead leaves from last season still have a presence here, don’t they?

Plants in ditch Lorimer 4-15-15 small

This man was fishing in the Pennypack creek. He looked very settled in his red chair, but as I watched, he stood up and paid more attention to his line. Maybe he felt a tug on it?

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

