Seven Brides For Seven Brothers

Five years ago I made a work for an exhibit in a local gallery – the theme was “Seven”. I made this grouping of figures and called it “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers”. It won an honorable mention and I was very happy about it.

“Seven Brides For Seven Brothers”, 2010

One thing that I think was interesting about this piece was that the inspiration came to me straight from a messy closet. Yes, truly. I was working on a project for an art center and one job was to reorganize the kids’ art closet. Lot of stuff in that space, I’ll tell you, including these worn out brushes. The center director said I could have them, so I took a handful. I couldn’t stop thinking of them as little women with stick-up hairdos, so I made that happen!

I kept the group at home for the past five years but lately I’ve been clearing out things and decided to let the ladies go. I thought of my ongoing drop-offs at Lorimer Park and so – yesterday my husband and I took them there.

I cannot walk far right now due to my broken foot, so I set them in two train control boxes pretty near the parking lot. They looked good there and I hope they find nice homes.

I still have a group of three smaller ladies at home. I don’t plan to break them up.

“Trio”, 2010

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

