Trouble Averted

Rock and a penny for size.

Rock and a penny for size.

You say, what is this photo all about? I’ll tell you. It’s a nice story.

Last week, the day before my cataract surgery, I was driving along. Feeling a bit on edge, but otherwise everything was as usual. Then, the warning light for low tire pressure came on. And, in my car, there is even a little schematic showing which tire – the passenger front.

Well, in some consternation, I turned around to go home. I had about 5 miles to drive and I had no idea why the tire was signaling for help. The car is just about 6 months old. Surely it should be fine?

I thought of the garage where we have taken our cars for years. Close to home and I knew they would help me out. I managed to get there fine. The tire looked low, and so I was glad to be there. I parked the car at the edge of the lot and went in. Sure, the guys said. Pull the car around and we’ll look.

I brought the car around the corner and to the front of the garage. I got out and went back into the office. We looked out the window at the car. At that moment, the tire finished going totally flat. I saw the rim sink to the ground.

After an examination, the pictured stone was found, driven all the way into a groove in the tire. The guys pulled it out and patched the tire. Some air and it was all fixed. Just like that!

I was so grateful I might have said, “Thank you!” about twenty times. I know the whole staff was laughing (in a nice way) by the time I finished. I am thankful for the help they gave me and so quickly, too. I am also marveling that the car waited until I got to a safe place before the tire went totally flat, and I’m grateful for that, too. As I said, I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind to cope with a flat tire that day.

See, I told you it was a nice story, so that’s why I’m writing it down here. And, I am still wondering how this little rock, not that sharp, found just the right spot in the tire to do this kind of work? It is surprising, isn’t it?

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

4 responses to “Trouble Averted

  1. I thought that little rock was a doll’s shoe. 🙂

    • It is the size of a Barbie shoe and not that sharp even at the pointed end, which is what pierced the tire. I have to say I was astounded when I saw it and realized – small but mighty!

  2. Martha

    Wow! Yes, surprising all around.

    • And so welcome. I really appreciated the help it seemed that the universe was handing out that day ( after, of course, sending me the little rock, but, the thing is, the balance was in my favor, so I was very thankful for that!)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

