Three Good-Byes

Some things are ending. Here are three endings in my life.

First, summer is starting to move out – this sign at the park is one of those early indications of shorter days. It’s just been changed from 8:45 to 8:30 PM – the first revision to an earlier time since the spring. I noticed this sign last week and now I’ll be paying attention to it again as the daylight changes.

Park closing sign 8-15 small

My three eye surgeries have resulted in changed eyesight. I am very grateful to have good vision again – I got my new glasses to fit my new eyes last week. Here is a picture of my old pair of glasses – the last pair I will ever have for the near-sighted me. I have been surprised how much the changes in my vision have affected me – I’ve mourned the loss of my old view of the world as I learn how to work with my “new” eyes. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised by that – I lived 50+ years seeing the world in a certain way and so a transition time is needed. I am very happy with the results of all my surgeries, though, and eternally grateful to everyone who has helped me along the way.

old glasses 8-15 small

Last, I had to say good-bye to our cat, Raquel, last week. She died very peacefully on August 7. She was 14 1/2 years old, very frail, and also I think the death of her brother, Jasper, in June was a blow to her. She was a very serious, reserved cat who liked to keep an eye on me wherever I was in the house. I am missing the nudges of her little pink nose as I work at my desk here today. This picture is of her as she looked in her prime.

Raquel 3-22 #1 small

Everything moves along, doesn’t it, and yet many times we never expect things to change. Yet equilibrium is restored with time. I have lots of good memories and look forward to making more in new seasons.

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

4 responses to “Three Good-Byes

  1. Raquel is beauty. I’m so sorry for your lose of a dear friend. Animals are our constant companions, never questioning us, just giving love.

  2. I’m so sorry you lost your two little friends, especially so close together. x o x

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

