Just Wandering Along

These photos were taken along the Green Ribbon Trail in Fort Washington State Park about a week ago. I was walking that day rather than running, and so I stopped over and over again as things caught my eye. I love this time of year.

Here is that beautiful red bush and a close-up of its berries. I love the red and black color scheme.

Green Ribbon 10-9-15 small Red berries 10-9-15 small

Next, I came on this huge entwined set of vines. My goodness, they were as thick as my wrist.

Tree with vines small #2 10-9-15

Tree with vines small #1 10-9-15

And a bit later, here’s an example of what I think of as a “Tarzan vine”; the park rangers cut them so that people don’t run into them, and I see them hanging down like this all over the trail. I don’t know why but I like them.

Tarzan vine 10-15 small

Next, I took pictures of this dead tree. I’ve photographed it before. It stands in a curve all by itself and commands attention. I feel almost as if it’s calling out, with that hole looking like a mouth to me.

Tree with holes #1a Green Ribbon 10-15 small

Tree with holes #1b Green Ribbon 10-15 small

The trail goes through a flood plain in this section, so there are a lot of dead trees stranded out in the scrubby undergrowth. They are left to decay as they like. I got interested in the number of holes in them – birds looking for insects.

Tree with holes #1c Green Ribbon 10-15 small

Tree with holes #3 Green Ribbon 10-15 small

These holes are not in trees but in the gateposts where the path crosses a road. Couldn’t resist taking a look inside with the camera…

And another interesting thing – this rotting tree is home to a thriving weed, growing in the crotch of the tree.

Tree with flowers growing in the Y 10-15

Interesting day out there on the trail!

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

2 responses to “Just Wandering Along

  1. It’s like accompanying you on your walk. 🙂

    • Every so often I seem to do one of these posts (I remember one last winter for the Sunshine project when crawled along a segment of abandoned railroad tracks…) and I love the kind of contemplative mood I get into when I go along this way.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

