Surprise!

This building, formerly a house, is now divided into apartments. It’s a common type of arrangement in my area. Something about the building has always attracted me, and I always take a look when I’m in the neighborhood – it’s next to my dentist’s office. I think interesting and nice people must live in it.

And now I feel sure they do. Why? Look to the right of the picture, the little structure in the yard…

Little library GL 1-16 #3 small

It’s a new location of the Little Free Library!

I’ve written about them before. There is one about a mile away, next to a florist shop; one in Lorimer Park by the ranger’s house; and one in Mondauk Park in Upper Dublin, near the main picnic structure. Now this new one here on Mt. Carmel Avenue in Glenside, PA. Hooray, and thank you. More books. More books! I love to see it. I’ll bring some volumes to put inside soon.

I also love the repurposed nature of the construction. Looks like a school desk, a cabinet or cupboard, and what about those license plates for the roof?

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

14 responses to “Surprise!

  1. I love everything about this! Thanks for sharing!

  2. What a sweet little library. I love this movement and hope it keeps spreading. Community, reading, sharing, trust, are all great things that these little libraries encapsulate.

  3. I have never seen this before! I wouldn’t mind building one for book storage.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

