A Common Interest

This sign is posted in the bathroom at Lorimer Park, home of the Pennypack Trail, where I go several times a week to exercise and to enjoy just being outside in the woods.

This park is very popular and many groups use it – I’ve seen church services, weddings, showers, Boy Scout events, 5K’s, and of course, family picnics. So I am not surprised by the number of languages represented in this notice. We are a diverse group here at Lorimer.

Lorimer park sign 5-5-16 small

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

10 responses to “A Common Interest

  1. We moved here from such a homogeneous little village that I still notice and enjoy all the diversity this area has to offer. I grew up with more diversity and have lived in cities where you could hear several languages spoken just in a brief stroll along a street so I am glad to be raising my children somewhere they get to experience a wider range of cultures, languages, and traditions than they did back home.

    • This park caters to a lot of people from the Northeast and there is a very diverse group living there, and coming to the park because there isn’t much open land in the neighborhoods, always. I enjoy seeing what’s going on there, and in my own neighborhood, and I’d look for the same kind of place if we ever moved.

  2. So diverse, indeed! 🙂
    Do you think they would correct the Portuguese translation? I am sorry to notice it is incomplete (Google’s fault, most probably)…

    • If you give it to me I’ll take it along. I think the Spanish one is wrong, too, I suspect Google and kitty litter as the culprit, arena being sand, and I know they are talking about litter at the park, and some people call the litterbox the cat’s sandbox…see how it happens!

      • How cool, if you can do that, then here it goes: Por favor, mantenha este nosso parque maravilhoso sem lixo espalhado.
        🙂
        Nevertheless, it’s somehow funny that people make jokes about it and that apparently nobody thought of suggesting a correction!

      • Written it down! Thank you.

  3. nannus

    Unfortunately, the German version is wrong as well German, but in context, it becomes clear what they mean 🙂
    There is no such expression as “Wurf frei”. It should have said “Bitte halten Sie unseren schönen Park frei von Müll”. (also note the “n” at the end of “unseren”).

    • Thank you, I’m writing this down, too. I’m commending the park rangers on their idea, if it came out a little rough in the execution. I remember in my childhood that residents new to the US were admonished to speak English, and visitors from other countries were a rarity and no one wondered about their ability to understand signs or whatever. Things are different now and it’s a good thing.

  4. The German one says “Please keep our beautiful park Throw” … 🙂

    • !!! Another German speaker has also mentioned this version. I commend the park rangers for trying and I have the feeling we will see a new sign soon. Or, everybody is being very polite and saying, well, I know what they mean…!!! I am glad they took the time and trouble to do anything like this, because I can remember in my childhood such a thing would not have happened. “They ought to speak English, this is the US!” would have been the idea, I think. Things have changed and that’s good.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

