Reality and the Other Reality

I am fascinated by reflections. Here’s the latest to take my notice.

At 30th Street Station in Philadelphia a few days ago to catch a train, I saw this scene in front of me as I got out of the car on my way into the building.

Building and reflection one of a pair -2- 6-14-16 30th st. small

It occurred to me to turn around. I saw this:

Building and reflection one of a pair -1- 6-14-16 30th st. small

So, as you know, I took pictures of both scenes. And I have really enjoyed going from one reality to the other and comparing them. I’m not sure why, but this pairing has really captured me. One thing that comes to mind is – I wonder how it feels to look at yourself in the mirror, all day, every day – and you know you are always going to be doing so? Unless someone pushes in front of you someday, of course…

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

9 responses to “Reality and the Other Reality

  1. There’s definitely something about reflections that’s absorbing. Maybe it’s the sense of fractured reality or the shift in perspective it forces.

    • Thank you. I love reflections in buildings like this but I haven’t thought to compare (photographically) the two aspects of the reflection until this time. Somehow compelling to me. Twins. Alter egos. And all that!

  2. I love the way that building reflects! This is a good one. (K)

  3. Astonishing! How aspects of the images are represented in both – nearly said each other – requires a poem don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

