I Remember These Names

Yesterday I went to Lorimer Park with my husband. Usually I would be running or walking, but on this day I was taking a day of rest – I injured a joint in my left big toe, and it was swollen, red, and painful. So I decided to take my sketchbook along. It’s a goal of mine to do more drawing and I thought I could do that while my husband ran the trails.

I decided to take up a seat near the ranger cabin, located in the picnic area.

Lorimer 3 9-16 small

I walked around the back of the building, something I don’t usually do – I spend most of my time on the rail trail or at a picnic table when I’m here. I sat down on a bench a little distance away, near the creek. I had a view of the little stone building that I’ve never experienced before.

If you look, you can see a series of wooden plaques on the side of the building. I’d never noticed them before. Curious, I walked back up to the cabin to examine them.

Lorimer 4 9-16 small

They mark the high-water levels of the creek in several past hurricanes. We are about 70 miles from the Atlantic Ocean at Lorimer Park, more or less, so if a hurricane comes near or on shore in New Jersey, we feel it. Still, I could hardly believe the creek had risen to levels that were in some cases above my head, at this location. Look at that picture of the red bench again – I took it from the ranger cabin, and the creek is back some feet and below.

Something to think about, isn’t it?

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

2 responses to “I Remember These Names

  1. Well thank goodness you managed to star dry! That’s really quite a rise in water levels. Wow!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

