Seen on the Scene

Yesterday my husband and I visited Reading, PA, to check out the happenings at the GoggleWorks Center for the Arts. But before we did that, we had to eat lunch. We had brought sandwiches with us and decided to stop on the campus of Albright College to have our meal.

Albright is a small college in town; we have driven by it before but never gone on campus. The weather was beautiful, and after we finished eating, we walked around a bit. There were others out and about, too; not only students but it looked like there was an admissions event going on including parents and families.

What a nice place this school is. It looked like a friendly and manageably-sized place to go to school. I took a couple of pictures that struck me. The flip-flops were left on their own near the student center. I was wondering how that happened, and I felt sorry for them.

flip-flops-albright-9-16-small

We couldn’t leave without seeing the library.

albright-library-small-9-16

When we went inside, we were disappointed. Built in 1962, I think, the place looked tired and out of date. Dreary, even. But before I go any further, it’s all ok. When I went to the college’s website to include its link in this post, I saw, prominently featured, their plans to renovate/rebuild the structure. Fantastic. I’ll tuck this into my memory, as someday it might be a great site for a Poetry Marathon session?!

I did see something I really liked at the current incarnation of the library, though – the circulation desk is obviously a gathering spot and decorated to prove it. I loved it.

circ-desk-library-albright-9-16-small

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

3 responses to “Seen on the Scene

  1. I love that you collect libraries.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

