Running

I’ve been working on returning to running – the past few years have been so up and down for my exercise and this past winter, with my husband’s injury, really added to the confusion.

So, I’ve been doing the run/walk method – you run some, walk some. I’ve got a plan and I’m working along with it.

When I run, I don’t listen to music – I just think. I come up with all kinds of odd things.

A couple of days ago I was going along and I made up a little cheer for myself. I must – I must tell you.

It owes a lot to the fact that I’m currently on a sequence of walk 2 minutes, run 5, walk 2, run 8…and to that old high school cheer 2-4-6-8…you’ll see.

Here goes:

Two five two eight
who do I appreciate?
Legs and feet, arms and abs
Claudia McGill machine is fabs!

See, I knew you’d like it. Now imagine me running along and chanting this little bit of encouragement (inside my head, of course, because I need all my breath to run…)

Lady running 4x4 11-16 small

About Claudia McGill

A person who does art and writes poetry. That's me!

5 responses to “Running

  1. That painting is fabulous! just everything about it.
    and a chant for accompaniment–perfect!
    Walking is good for thinking. Showers too, I find. (K)

    • Yes, I forgot about this little painting until I was looking for an image for this post and it worked great. I do like to run and the little cheerleading thing kind of keeps me going when I think…ugggh, two more minutes, or whatever, I will not make it!

  2. Good for you! And that little ditty really made me smile!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

Categories

Pages

